Competence Center By setting up its three research and development divisions (R&D Divisions) Energy, Health and Transportation, OFFIS has, in past years, clearly positioned itself as an application-oriented IT institute with detailed knowledge of market structures and future challenges in these fields.

Bundling of Strategic Competences

In order to further strengthen our ability to generate long-term technology and process innovations, we will be bundling our technology and process competences in selected topics into »Competence Centers«. These Competence Centers were identified within the scope of an evaluation process supported by the Scientific Advisory Council – using criteria which can be expected to produce long-term competitiveness thanks to the bundling of basic research and application-oriented research.

Cooperative, Cross-Collaboration

We have created teams of colleagues; Heads of Division and Department, and OFFIS staff but also Post-Docs and academics from related subject areas at our University for the relevant Competence Center. The teams will be integrated into a jointly structured network with high international visibility and a high degree of industrial acceptance with a research agenda. »We think ahead« – the OFFIS guiding theme will be concretized by means of looking ahead on market developments in the three R&D Divisions; the identification of technology and process innovations required for this and the further development of our competences to take up these future challenges.

Process and Technology Innovations

Therefore we are initiating research projects concerned with basic principles early on; are identifying application-oriented research contexts in cooperation with our industry partners to realize strategic objectives; and, together with our industry partners, develop strategies for the long-term realization of process and technology innovations. Management of each Competence Center will be the responsibility of a Chairperson who will be assisted in his/her duties by one or two Post-Docs.

Competence Center Mit der Einrichtung seiner drei Forschungs- und Entwicklungsbereiche (FuE-Bereiche) Energie, Gesundheit und Verkehr hat sich OFFIS in den vergangenen Jahren im Forschungsmarkt klar als anwendungsorientiertes Informatikinstitut mit tiefer Kenntnis der Marktstrukturen und Zukunftsherausforderungen in diesen Feldern positioniert.

Bündelung strategischer Kompetenzen

Zur weiteren Stärkung unserer Fähigkeit zur Schaffung nachhaltiger Technologie- und Prozessinnovationen bündeln wir unsere Technologie- und Prozesskompetenzen in ausgewählten Themenfeldern in »Competence Center«. Die Competence Center wurden in einem durch den Wissenschaftlichen Beirat unterstützten Evaluationsprozess identifiziert – an Hand von Kriterien, die eine nachhaltige Wettbewerbsfähigkeit durch Bündelung von Vorlaufforschung und anwendungsorientierter Forschung erwarten lassen. 

Kollegiale, übergreifende Zusammenarbeit

Wir haben Teams von Kolleginnen und Kollegen, Bereichs- und Gruppenleitern sowie OFFIS MitarbeiterInnen, aber auch von Post-Docs und WissenschaftlerInnen aus verwandten Themenstellungen unserer Universität für die jeweiligen Competence Center gebildet, die sich in ein gemeinsam gestaltetes Netzwerk mit hoher internationaler Sichtbarkeit und starker industrieller Akzeptanz unter einer Forschungsagenda integrieren. »Wir denken Zukunft« – das OFFIS Leitmotiv wird hier konkretisiert durch die Vorausschau von Entwicklungen am Markt in den drei FuE-Bereichen, der Identifikation von dafür relevanten Technologie- und Prozessinnovationen, sowie der Vertiefung unserer Kompetenzen zur Beantwortung dieser Herausforderungen der Zukunft.

Prozess- und Technologieinnovationen

Dazu starten wir frühzeitig grundlagenorientierte Forschungsprojekte, dazu identifizieren wir gemeinsam mit unseren Industriepartnern anwendungsorientierte Forschungskontexte zur Umsetzung der strategischen Zielsetzungen, und dazu erarbeiten wir gemeinsam mit unseren Industriepartnern Strategien zur nachhaltigen Umsetzung von Prozess- und Technologieinnovationen. Die Leitung der Competence Center obliegt jeweils einem Sprecher, der in seiner Aufgabe durch ein oder auch zwei Post-Docs unterstützt wird.